top of page
blue background2 (1).png
blue background2 (1).png

Founded January 16, 1920

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. began as an idea conceived by five phenomenal women at Howard University in Washington D.C.: Arizona Cleaver Stemons, Myrtle Tyler Faithful, Viola Tyler Goings, Fannie Pettie Watts, and Pearl Anna Neal. These five women dared to depart from the traditional coalitions for black women and sought to establish a new organization predicated on the precepts on Scholarship, Service, Sisterly Love and Finer Womanhood. It was the idea of the Founders that the Sorority would reach college women in all parts of the country who were sorority-minded and desired to follow the founding principles of the organization.


Since its inception, the Sorority has chronicled several firsts. Zeta Phi Beta was the first Greek-letter organization to charter a chapter in Africa (1948); to form adult and youth auxiliary groups; to centralize its operations in a national headquarters; and to be constitutionally bound to a fraternity, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.

Charter Members Background

On April 10, 2003, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. expanded and gained new ground by chartering Tau Delta Zeta (TDZ) Chapter in Laurel, Maryland! Eleven enthusiastic, dedicated, business-savvy women, sought to make a difference in their community and represent Zeta in manner worthy of Our Five Pearls. The skills, knowledge, and experience possessed by these women has helped to make TDZ a preeminent service organization during the new millennium by providing a balance of new-age technology and old-age wisdom and a commitment to serve those who are less fortunate.

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority has always been a forerunner in the community, and the members TDZ have sought to expand on the sorority's exemplary records as "A Community-Conscious, Action-Oriented Organization" hence TDZ's motto, "Expand and Serve."

While Prince George’s County is known to have the most affluent African American population in the country, disparities in social services throughout the county still exist. With the purpose to “Expand and Serve,” TDZ has come together with the mission of enhancing the quality of life for the residents of Northern Prince George’s County through service and outreach, while exemplifying the ideals of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. The Chapter endeavors to promote and implement the national programs of the Zeta Phi Beta Sorority; thus, increasing the visibility of Zeta in the county through our programmatic efforts in the Northern Prince George’s County community and the Baltimore-Washington Metropolitan area at large. Additionally, TDZ members are committed to strengthening its membership by providing an environment that is both welcoming and industrious for women to work and serve Zeta. With the precept that Zeta is both a business and a sisterhood, TDZ looks to bring Sorors home to Zeta!

TDZ seeks ladies who are achievers and driven to succeed in compounding our success. To obtain additional information about membership in Zeta Phi Beta’s Tau Delta Zeta (That Dynamic Zeta) Chapter contact

Chapter History

Charter Members

Heather Brown-Coward   ·   Teraleen Campbell   ·   Laura Charles-Horne   ·   Synthia Edwards-Elmore
Tarra Dreher   ·   Carol Kelly   ·   Corliss McCain-Rouse   ·   Dontrell Murray
Belinda Pugh   ·   Valerie Sinady   ·   Careese Warren

TDZ Presidents

2020 - Present
2018 - 2020
2016 - 2018
2014 - 2016
2011 - 2014
2010 - 2011
2006 - 2010
2004 - 2006
2003 - 2004
Darkesha P. Johnson
Lisa Simpson-Smith
Cristine (Cox) Coney
Laura Charles-Horne
Lisa Simpson-Smith
Wendy McIntyre
Koretta (Scott) Skelton
Dontrell Murray
Corliss McCain-Rouse
bottom of page